NYS DMV Point & Insurance Reduction Program
If after we wrap up your case there are any points remaining on your license we will then walk you through the process of taking the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles approved Point & Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP). The course is taught through private companies, called "course sponsors." Upon completion of an approved PIRP course as many as four (4) points will be removed from your driving record, and your liability and collision insurance premiums insurance will be reduced a minimum 10% for three years.
You can take the Point & Insurance Reduction Program course either online or in a traditional classroom setting. The course is 6 hours long and covers such issues as driver attitude and behavior, defensive driving techniques, and instruction on New York’s Vehicle & Traffic Law.
Once the PIRP course is completed the Point & Insurance Reduction Program sponsor notifies the DMV no later than ten weeks after you complete the course. The Department of Motor vehicles then enters a notice on your driving record, and the DMV computer automatically reduces your active point total by up to four points for points assessed within the last 18 months. The point reduction course also cannot be used as “credit" against future violations or points, nor can it reduce your points to less than zero. Even after you complete the course, most violations, conviction and points assessed will continue to show on your driving record. "Point reduction" means the NYS DMV will not count up to four points toward license revocation or suspension.
Points may be reduced only once in any given 18-month period. The New York DMV point system and insurance company merit point systems are separate and unrelated. In other words, point reduction on your driving record does not affect points assigned by your insurance company for violations and accidents.
After completing the PIRP course, you receive your insurance reduction by presenting the certificate of completion the course sponsor forwards to you to your insurance company / agent within 90 days after course completion. Your liability and collision premium reduction begins immediately starting after the fact from the date you completed the course. For insurance reduction purposes you may take the course once every 36 months to maintain insurance reduction benefits.
DMV Point System Summary
Points are assessed against a driving record based on the date the violation is committed, not the conviction date. Accumulating 11 or more points in an 18 months period results in a license suspension. Notwithstanding this, some license suspensions / revocations are independent of any point accrual. This includes three speeding violations within an 18 month period, and any conviction involving alcohol or drugs.